Website Manager

Badgerland Lacrosse Association

Badgerland Lacrosse Association

Kester-Spencer Award

The Kester-Spencer Award

The Kester-Spencer Award is intended to honor someone in the lacrosse community who has gone above and beyond their expected role, and who has worked to benefit not only one team, but lacrosse throughout the area. The award is for a lacrosse contributor at any level and any gender.

The 2017 winner of the Kester-Spencer Award is... Indy Stluka!

2017 Nominees:
Barney Gallagher - Westside U9
Josh Klein - Eastside
Stephanie Spencer - Middleton
Indy Stluka - BLL Girls VP and Westside HS coach

History of the Award

This award honors two highly committed and commendable contributors to lacrosse in Wisconsin:

Ginny Kester is esteemed for her pioneering spirit, her commitment to the sport, and her overall positive attitude. She is a great role model to coaches, parents, and athletes, and is a walking talking example of “Honor the Game”. 

A champion of the Girls Game, Jody Spencer was a founding member of the first girl’s league in WI, and helped petition the WLF and MALA to recognize the girl's side of the sport. Jody has coached all levels from 4th grade to college, served in several Board positions with the WLF and MALA, coached in four state championships, and has received numerous awards from both MALA and the WLF. In 2016, Jody was inducted into the Wisconsin Lacrosse Federation Hall of Fame as a member of of their inaugural class. Currently, Jody runs the offseason Vibe Lacrosse Club program and hosts coach and player training dates. Though she spends a lot of time on administration, her love of coaching is the driving force behind her involvement in the sport.

In 2016, at the recommendation of Ginny Kester, the BLL Board voted to change the name of this award from the Ginny Kester Award to the Kester-Spencer Award.

Ginny Kester and Jody Spencer
Ginny Kester and Jody Spencer

Past Winners


Jody Spencer


Katy Coelho


Glenn Teschendorf


Dave Wollin


Jody Spencer


David Drake


Glenn Teschendorf


Badgerland Lacrosse
Madison, Wisconsin  

Email: [email protected]

Copyright © 2024 Badgerland Lacrosse  |  Privacy Statement |  Terms Of Use |  License Agreement |  Children's Privacy Policy  Log In